Archive for February 13, 2014

Tough Windy 5K Run

Posted: February 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

Tough Windy 5K Run.

With 1 thing or another, plus being on holidays, meant I hadn’t ran in a hell of a long time. Over 2 weeks in fact, which is rare for me, as I’ve been putting in big miles recently.

Sitting in the cafe, on my last day in the Alps, I thought, ‘isn’t this great, I’ve made it to the end of the holiday injury free!’ Jinx time! Afternoon session resulted in a fairly fast crash on a sharp turn. Jarred my knee, and felt a bit weak for a few days. Panic set in a little, as this is the knee that I’ve had my ACL reconstructed on a few years back.

Cycling and swimming was fine on it through the start of the week and I knew if I rested it from running, it should be grand after a little rest. Thinking to myself, I need to get a big run completed at the weekend, but I don’t want to leave it till then in case it is sore, and a training session wasted. Thursday’s plan is cycling, and with Friday being 14th February I doubt I’ll get away with running then 😉 Of course last night was free, and good chance for a run. BUT, typically its absolutely pouring down with rain and the wind is blowing like mad. Great conditions eh? There’s nothing else for it though, but to embrace the howling wind and rain and get out on a tester run for my knee.

road-runner-cartoon

Opened my front door ready to go, and I thought, ‘what the hell am I doing?’ Haha Eventually set off nice and easy, concentrating on my right knee all the way, things felt good, so I upped my pace a little and ploughed on as quickly as possible. I suppose the quicker I ran, the quicker I got inside again. Towards the end I had that ‘I’m soo glad I done that’ feeling, knee felt great, I was happy, and it puts everything back on track. Roll on the weekend, it’s time to go ‘long’ again. Happiest 🙂

Aaron