The 1st of my midweek training was a swim session. I was nervous enough about it to be honest, because of my neck injury I couldn’t swim for 5 weeks. All seemed fine to get stuck back in though, and that’s exactly what I done.

Tuesdays TTC session was filled with the usual club members, which results in good craic while the lengths pass by. Mervyn always comes up with great sets and Tuesday was no different, it was the 1st time I’d ever done the 50m intervals for as long as my body could make it, within the time of course. It seemed like I was literally back in at the deep end, but I held on well and loved it.

Wednesdays was run time, and again lunch time was my opportunity to get something done. Time was limited though and all I could do was a wee 5K blast. The ‘weather bomb’ had arrived which was a bit annoying to say the least, but it’s December, we have to accept the wind and rain don’t we! Haha. My route was quite simply along the quay till I hit 2.5K and then turn. Pace was decent and I ended my run with a 6 min 40 sec average per mile, so I was happy for sure.

Thursday was bike night, and as usual for this time of year it consists of sitting indoors on the rollers. I’m really getting the hang of them now and I love it. I had a good 45min interval session with a good mixture of speed/time/resistance. I even managed to get over 40mph, so anyone that tells you rollers aren’t as good as turbo trainers for interval sets is either chatting rubbish or they’re scared! Take your pick 😉

Aaron

Leave a comment