With 1 thing or another, I’ve only had 2 training sessions this week. Though, I must say, both were tests, and the results were pleasing to say the least.

The 1st test I had, was a 750m time trial in the pool, with the Tri club. A few good sprint triathletes as usual, were keen to take the lead. I certainly wasn’t complaining, as I’ve done very little swimming worth talking about, so to hang on at the back, was about all I could manage anyways. Pace seemed comfortable enough thankfully, and I hung in there the very best. My time was 12mins 30 secs (give or take) so I was happy with this for sure, not a million miles away from my PB to be honest.

We also had a set to do afterwards, which was a struggle to say the least, shoulders were burning from the time trial. The sprinters had had enough mid way, which left Mark and I to carry on, and work hard to finish off the 2K. A tough session for sure, but it definitely gave me a little confidence about my swimming again thankfully.

Next up, was the dreaded 6x800m intervals, with 90seconds rest in between. I hadn’t done this session for a few months, as I worked hard on tempo runs and 400m sprints recently. From what I remember, my times a few months ago were between 3mins and 3mins 6secs. So realistically, if I’ve progressed at all, I’d need to better those times.

From work, the running track I use, is literally about a mile away, so it’s a pretty perfect situation to be honest. The usual run there at about 7:30 min/mile pace, a few stretches, and that has me ready to go as soon as I’m there.

  1. 2:55 felt great, but sure, I always do on the 1st Haha
  2. 2:54 not bad, still strong.
  3. 2:56 having to work hard.
  4. 2:56 again, this was tight going, but happy enough.
  5. 2:59 really hard work, pushed hard to keep it under 3 mins, felt sick.
  6. 2:59 this almost made me pass out never mind sick, had to bust myself to stay under 3 mins.

Keeping all of them under 3 minutes was really tough, but, beating all my times from my previous 800s pleased me big time. I literally plodded my way back to work, just about managing my 1mile cool down at 9min mile pace lol. I was delighted with the session though, and I have a feeling a 5k PB won’t be far away 😉

Aaron

Comments
  1. Great job! I hate 800s!

Leave a comment