Archive for April 25, 2014

At the start of Easter, I planned to complete a half iron training race. The weather was fantastic on Easter Saturday and it made for the perfect opportunity to go for it. I couldn’t get anyone to join me on the challenge, as most of the lads had family commitments and what not, so I was on my tod.

I started the swim at 9am, cruised the 1.2 mile swim at my leisure (remember this is training pace, not race pace). I think my swim time was 38 minutes or very close to it at least. Taking my time with a proper change at transition was worth while I thought, no need for any rushing, I wasn’t racing anyone lol

My bike route was from Limavady, along the Coast Road which was fast as usual, and the sun making the views something else, into Coleraine and out towards Portrush. It’s days like this that make cycling/training so much fun, no rain, no clouds, nothing. We get so much bad weather all winter, this is the weather we only dream of. I was cycling well, and felt good which helped, taking in plenty of water and nibbling away on my bananas and flapjacks.

I then made my way along the Coast to Portstewart, truly gorgeous part of the world, you would never get tired cycling on that road it’s so good. Onwards into Coleraine again, here I had the biggest scare yet of coming off my bike. How the driver turning into a petrol station never seen me is beyond me! I slapped on the brakes, and just managed to avoid colliding with his car and no more, he got a serious mouthful and a few gestures to show my feelings on the matter! On I went and made my way back along the Coast Road to Limavady again, a slight head wind from Benone to Limavady wasn’t good but I struggled on and completed my cycle with a 17.5mph average speed. Well impressed considering I had no company nor drafting.

Changed into my running gear and off I set for a lap of the bridges, a well know route for cyclists and runners. This is a 10 mile loop so I had to add a bit to it for the full 13.1 mile run needed. Right from the off I was sweating, the heat was so good considering it is still only April. I must thank my mum and dad at this point, they drove to the halfway point and met me with water and jelly babies to keep my energy up, the support they are giving me for this journey to become an ironman is 2nd to none. Thank you soso much.

The last few miles were tough enough, my knees were hurting a little but nothing major. Finally coming into the finishing point felt so good, I finished strong enough which I’m happy about, but I looked a little worse for wear. Haha. My run average was 8:58 min/mile pace, happy enough and steady enough for all 13.1 miles.

My total time (not counting transitions) was 5hours 45 minutes. Not my best time, but certainly pleasing as this is just part of my training remember 😉 This was a stepping stone from my 1st few months of my plan, and going on now to the 2nd part of my plan which includes some races in May and June. Time to test myself for sure, while being carful that my Ironman plan keeps ticking along at the same time! Keeping my eyes on the bigger prize is important. Bring it on 😉

Aaron