Archive for April 7, 2014

I had a busy few days with training, and a rest day thrown in to clear a fuzzy head from Friday night beers, here’s a quick round up.

Thursday– It was time for my 2nd cycle of the week, Chris, Darrel and Keith were keen to join me and clock up a few miles. The weather was great, it was warm and the evening sun was still coming through the cloud, although a tad windy, it was nothing to worry about. We cycled along the Coast Road to Benone beach and back, gorgeous route and flat as a pancake to keep Darrel and Keith happy lol.

Heres Darrel and Keith giving me a wave, things won’t be as relaxed the day of the big race.

   d&k

Our pace was ok, cruised it really, ended up with 16.2 average thanks to a crazy blast on my last 5 mile, good feeling sitting at 22/23mph for a while. The lads all enjoyed getting out again, and the banter I stirred up between Darrel and Keith was good. I’m fairly sure it’s going to be a close race between them at the sprint triathlon in May.

Friday- Early swim was the order of the day, Chris and Barry also happy to get it over and done with early doors, so I has some company. A 2 mile steady swim was the plan, each taking our turn at the front to break things up a bit, job done in an hour, great swimming for sure. Though, Barrys counting is frightening! I’m going to get him an abacus at the end of the lane haha

Saturday- This was a rest day from training, a few beers with my mates on Friday night left my head a bit fuzzy to say the least, rest was my only option. Opppsss

Sunday- Planned on a 70+ mile cycle with Chris and Shane seemed a good idea, but a 7:30am start didn’t. I couldn’t get my lazy ass out of bed early enough and told them to head on themselves. I had a backup plan which worked out ok, few of the MAMILs from Claudy were cycling through the big smoke of Ballykelly later in the morning so I tagged along with them, cheers lads. I managed a 40 mile total, tough going into the wind and rain and my average was 16.9mph.

Brick session was needed so I got the Asics on and headed out the door for a 4 mile run. Training for the ironman seems to have made me loss my speed on the runs which isn’t good, the few sprints I’ve entered aren’t far away and I could only manage my 4 mile with a 7:21 min/mile average pace. Happy enough though and a few sprint sessions over the next 6 weeks will bring it along well, guess I’d better go to running club tonight then! So, here goes for another mad week, the joys of triathlon, bring it on! 😉

Aaron