Causeway Coast Triathlon

Posted: June 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

   One of the most exciting races on the calendar is the Causeway Coast Olympic distance triathlon, which is held in Portrush. Perfect setting for a triathlon for sure, to go with it, we had little or no wind, and the sun was shining, everyone was in good form and ‘up for it’!

me start

Sea swims can have many difficulties for us to deal with, but luckily for us, the waves didn’t punish us too much. The current did make it a little tough but nothing drastic thankfully. The toughest part as expected was the mass start, bodies everywhere which made the turn at the buoys interesting to say the least.

mass start

My swim was average enough which made me really go for it on the bike course. It took me a good 10 minutes to get into a decent rhythm though which had me frustrated. I eventually settled and on some sections of the course I was cruising at 28+mph. This was grand until the draggy climb up past the famous ‘Dunluce Castle’ which put an end to the great speeds. I worked really hard, and the overall average on the bike was 21.3mph. This was a great confidence booster for me, as I go into the more challenging stage of Ironman training when July begins.

The sun was baking us by now, and the atmosphere at transition and the beginning of the run was fantastic. I tried to keep a steady enough pace at around 7:45 min/mile for the 10K run, but the route had some tough sections and my 100% effort on the bike was starting to take effect! Alarm bells were ringing and I had to back right off, disappointed really, but looking at the bigger picture of Ironman is wayyyy more important. Getting an injury going down a section of steps, sand dunes and a flint stone path with 2 miles to go was ridiculous in my opinion.

me run

Anyways, race done and dusted, handshakes, banter with club mates and my training buddies ‘the MAMILs’, pictures etc, and a quick dip in the sea to cool off felt unreal.

mamils

My finish time was 2hrs 29mins, a full seven minutes slower than last year, why? You might ask! Well, the difference being, at this stage last year, I was in my peak weeks of Ironman training, whereas this year I don’t intend peaking until that start line in Barcelona on Sunday the 4th of October! 😉

Aaron

Leave a comment