OK, so I sat myself down, and pencilled a few different plans for the next 8 week period, trying to find something that will fit in between my 2 very busy jobs 😉 as most of you know, I get it tough (ah ha, aren’t I such a joker). Once I got my wall chart up again, it all slotted into the pattern I had hoped. I feel like I’ve got a great plan in place now, with a decent balance of the 3 disciplines. Hopefully I can keep it going for the next 2 months (as long as the wintry weather allows of course) and by spring I should have a tidy wee base build for myself. In theory, this should pay off I hope lol

On Tuesday, it was swim followed by a roller session. Triangle Tri Club swim is always tough, which is good, isn’t it? haha! Mervyn’s the main man for swimming that’s for sure, and week in week out, he provides us with not only the ‘tough session’ but an enjoyable session. Of course the enjoyment comes hand in hand with the ‘ejits’ in the swim lane, when you have Stevie Keown and Mervyn together, there’s never a dull moment!

The usual warm up, with a few drills and a build set goes in pretty fast, and before you know it the main set is staring you in the face. Looking on paper, the cruise test of 10x100m at your best pace, with 10seconds between each 100m looks a tidy wee set. Though I can tell you, it’s a hell of a lot tougher than it sounds.

Thomas ‘the top man’ as always leads the lane, it might be that bit tougher at the front, but I know for a fact he loves it, isn’t that right T 🙂 I went out 2nd with big Stevie on my tail, we held onto Thomas’ pace till halfway, and soon found ourselves blowing bubbles! We settled the heads a bit, and found a pace a little more suited to me and the big man lol! I think our finish time was 18mins 30secs or there abouts, it’s not much of a true time though, as a congested lane made it difficult to pass, and also made it easier at times when drafting a better swimmer. On your own would be a true test, but I can assure you, I’ll not be trying it, everyone was ‘done’ by the 10th 100m that’s for sure.

When I say ‘done’ I guess I mean, glad it’s over, though the thought of stopping before 100 lengths were completed wouldn’t do, so Thomas, Stevie and I splashed about a bit more, why? You might ask, because we can, is the answer 😉 Ironman mentality kicks in, go long or go home! Haha

Straight home and onto the roller I got, parked right in front of the TV, and watching football, perfect! The time flew in, it was just a steady spin for 45 mins during the 1st half of the footie. Sitting happily enough at 18mph average, it ticked the box for what I needed. A good 2 hours in the bank, all is good! 😉

Next up was yesterday afternoons run session, it was back to the hard work of intervals. From work I ran over to St. Columbs park running track, this was my warm up complete with a few stretches, sprints and strides etc to go along with it.

After getting some sound advice from Andy, a fellow MAMIL, I knew what was required for the 400m repeats that I’d planned. Each 400m should be slightly faster than my 5K pace, which I done as best I could, all of them were between 1min 25 and 1min 30, and have only 45 second recovery between each of them. You must always have that feeling of control, so working at around 90% is key, rather than busting yourself trying to give 100% each time, effectively ruining the plan which has been set in the 1st place. This is my favourite run session, I must admit, but when the wind is 25mph with much faster gusts, rain battering my face, it made it a seriously tough workout. I was a happy man once I made it to the end of the 8th 400m that’s for sure. I had a handy wee jog back to work for my cool down, job done for the day, result! 🙂

Aaron

Leave a comment