Cycling To Parkrun :)

Posted: November 24, 2014 in Bike, Run
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, when you’re not out for drinks on either a Friday or Saturday night, it can mean either 1 of 2 things. 1. your boring, 2. because you’ve training early doors the next day. I suppose on Friday, both summed me up quite well, lol

I was going to ‘parkrun’ in Derry to help my mate Chris get his time down a little, and keep him motivated throughout the 5k as he chased his PB. I thought to myself, as I’m not going to bust a time myself, it would be cool to cycle there and back. It’s 14 miles away from my house, so this would make for a decent 28mile round trip with a 5k run in the middle. A bit of a back to front duathlon I suppose haha

I needed to be there for around 9:15 am, and to be honest I was a bit scared cycling along a dual carriageway in what was still a little dark for cycling if I’m honest. Not to worry I thought and before I arrived at parkrun it was well and truly daylight and everyone was ready for the 5k. I made a quick change into my Asics and joined Chris for a ‘wee’ warm up. It basically consisted of walking to the start line lol

I meet a few others from Limavady, Darren and Stevie, who had also made it up for the 5K, they were wise and used the car though 😉

The ever growing crowd at parkrun is brilliant to see I must say. The effort made by Ciaran and Tommy (and many more I’m sure) to make parkrun Derry a success is 2nd to none. Well done again lads.

Off we went with the crowd of enthusiastic runners, eager as ever. Mile 1 was grand and mile 2 much the same, then the small hill coming back up onto the peace bridge took its toll on Chris, and killed our time a little. This ended the chance of a PB pretty much there and then, not to worry though as I’m sure there will be many many more occasions for Chris to smash his time. After chatting to the Limavady lads at the end, I realised it was their 1st 5k, so it was PBs all round for them, again, I’m certain those times set on Saturday will be beat easily next time out.

The sun was well and truly out now, and as I changed back into my cycling gear I had to leave a few layers off. There’s nothing better than that crisp winter sun, I cruised back down the road to Ballykelly happy as Larry. I had 28 miles cycling and a 5K run done and dusted by 11am, sure you couldn’t beat it eh?

Aaron

Leave a comment